Bed for the guest bedroom

When we moved to Florida(two years ago!) we were using my queen size bed that I brought from NY.  I had had that bed since I was probably 16, wasn’t in the best shape but it did the job.  Not long after we moved Justin decided it was time to get a new bed, since he was having trouble sleeping.  We ended up getting a new king size bed that is firm and amazing.  So at that point we had two beds, a king and a queen.  Both of the beds were residing in our one bedroom apartment, both in our bedroom.  The queen size bed had become a very large dog bed, Charlie and Zack were big fans.

photo(115)

Here they are on the queen mattress on the floor.  And of course they get sheets, blankets and pillows… your dogs don’t?  Also if you are wondering Zack does indeed have a mohawk, he rocked that look for a while.  After a couple months Justin had had enough of having two beds in our bedroom and he packed up the other mattress and threw it out.  I was anti throwing out the bed, because I knew soon we would have a house and need a bed for a guest room. Fast forward to now and guess what… we need a bed!  My parents are visiting soon and they will need somewhere to sleep.  So I began searching for an affordable new mattress and boxspring.  I figured since this bed will only be used a couple times a year, it really does not have to be high quality.  Also, since we just purchased this house funds are low and I needed to find something pretty inexpensive.  I ended up finding the best deal at the Mattress Firm Clearance Center.  It’s only about 15 minutes from my house so it worked out well.  I ended up getting a queen mattress and boxspring for only $200! It’s not the best bed out there for sure, but it will be fine for a guest room.  The next problem was getting the bed home.  Since we do not have a truck it was either barrow one from a friend, rent a uhaul or pay the delivery charge of $100.  I was not a fan of choice 3, I looked in to renting a uhaul truck and it was going to end up being $30.  My boss heard that I was going to rent a uhaul and he told me to just use his truck.  Score! $0 just some manual labor and lifting by myself and my friend Janine(also coworker.)  Janine drove since she was worried about us taking his truck and apparently she is a better driver.

photo(111)

I’m not gonna lie, she did a good job.  His truck is massive, it’s a ford super duty!  She managed to back that thing up this ramp!

photo(112)

So we managed to get the mattress home and from there Justin got it from the garage to the bedroom.  I still had the frame from our previous queen bed so he also set that up.

001

This is what it looked like in the guest room the first night…

005

Charlie thinks he’s a model.  This is a comforter I have had for a while that I love, but don’t love it in this room.  I bought a new quilt at Marshall’s that I think works a lot better with the gray walls.

photo(113)

I swear, I go to take a picture and he hops right in front of the camera.  Hey, at least he’s handsome!  I really love this new bedding, I love the ikat fabric.  I also love all the different shades of blue.  From there I really wasn’t digging that you could still see the wheels on the bed frame.  I really am not a fan of bed skirts because when I think of a bed skirt I think of something like this…

white-bedskirt

Not a fan of a ruffle bed skirt.  I wanted something more flat and tailored.  I found a decent one at target on clearance for $12! Score!

078

Now you can no longer see those pesky wheels.   I am very happy with this new bed in the guest room.  Now my parents have somewhere pretty to stay. woo hoo!