Rocking Chair

So I am officially addicted to craigslist.  I can’t help it, I want to buy other peoples junk and make it awesome.

I was keeping my eye out for something that would work well in the bedroom.  We have one nightstand and I wanted something to balance out the other side of the bed.  I decided a chair would work well because it would be a good place to throw our pillows that don’t get used while we sleep.  I was checking craigslist regularly for some kind of old chair that I could clean up and make my own.  A few days later I found a pretty cool rocking chair.  Unfortunately I forgot to take a picture of the chair before I made changes. Shucks. Well I found a picture of one that looks similar.

Image

So it looked something like that, just a little more filthy.  So I cleaned it up and sanded it down.  I knew I wanted to paint it but I couldn’t decide between gray and white.  I figured if I went with white I could move it around the house in the future if needed, and it would still match since our trim is white in the house.  So it was originally a semi gloss black that wasn’t painted very well.  I went with a flat paint because I just thought it would show less imperfections since I was painting it with a brush.  So I started painting, did a first coat, then second, then third, then fourth.  Then a few days later I did a couple more coats and it looked like this…

Image

It was late and dark again.  So basically I could still see black through the many coats of white.  So after 7 coats it looks like this…

photo(39)

Yes that pillow says I love dogs… because I do indeed love dogs.  Thanks Jess!

Leave a comment